Review! | Harry Potter & The Cursed Child – Book 8

Overall Rating: ★★★☆☆

03-harry-potter-cursed-child-w529-h529

Author:J.K. Rowling & John Tiffany & Jack Thorne

Series: Harry Potter (book 8)

Genre: Fiction, Fantasy, Drama

Pages: 340 (special rehearsal script edition)

picture4

2 years after book 7 (Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows), in 2011, when J.K. Rowling was asked about the possibility of an eighth book that was her response:

“Well, I keep saying that I feel I wrapped Harry’s story up. And you gotta know when to…”

Unlike most HP fans, I agreed with Rowling. Now, don’t get me wrong. I’m a dedicated HP fan. It’s a part of my life, and I’m planning on naming my kids after the characters but I felt that Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows was such a closure and didn’t  want the series ruined with a dissatisfying sequel.

picture4

 

And my fear has come true!

Harry Potter and The Cursed Child was a disappointment for me. I admit I had extremely high expectations, so it’s partially my fault I suppose, but come on, this is a J.K Rowling book…

Does this have to do with the play format? Oh yeah, it has a lot to do with it. When I first knew it’s coming out in play format, I couldn’t help but feel a little discouraged. Honestly, plays are not fun to read, they were made to be watched. That’s why it took me months to decide that’s enough, I gotta man up and read the book. So, I download an illegal pdf on my tablet (sorry, but my financial state doesn’t allow me to order a copy for about 400 EGP shipping fees not included)  and nestle in my cozy bed with a spark of hope in my heart that J.K Rowling won’t let me down. You know what happened to that spark? It just got dimmer and dimmer as I’m progressing through the book until it was finally put out with the last sentence in the book.

I can handle the fact that it’s written as a play, but even the plot was not what I should expect after a long wait. It’s typical Hollywood story, read and forgotten in a matter of days. Time-turning stories should be perfect because of the huge impact a negligible detail in the past can have on the future, and this was shown in the book, but I was finding myself a little lost and quite confused between scenes. The book was fast-paced. EXTREMELY fast-paced, actually, but that’s understandable considering the whole story was to be acted in only 2 hours.

picture4

I imagine the play must be breathtaking to watch, what’s with the magic effects, great actors playing the roles and all. If I was anywhere near the vicinity of London, I’d sell an arm and a leg (and a kidney for good measure) just to watch one part of the play. Unfortunately, my mother insists that would immensely affect my health.

hpatcc-9-and-3-4

Long story short: Harry Potter and The Cursed Child shouldn’t have been published as a book. It would’ve been much better if it had remained a magnificent play available for the audience to go watch, enjoy, and then return home.

picture2

5 thoughts on “Review! | Harry Potter & The Cursed Child – Book 8

    • Yes! Harry Potter face the worst childhood and you’d think that’d make a more understanding father of num but no.. and Hermione just wasn’t mentioned enough.

      Liked by 1 person

      • True. And the parts where she’s mentioned wasn’t very Hermione-ish to me. I would have understand it more if Harry became, you know, over-the-top protective and caring because he might shower his children of the things he lacks as a child (because parents tend to give their children what they don’t have or experience as a kid). Too sad it went that way.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

