Review | Before I Go To Sleep

Overall Rating:

★★★★★

before i go to sleep.jpg


Book Details: 

Author: S.J. Watson

Publication: June 14th 2011 by HarperCollins Publishers

Pages: 359 pages


Synopsis:

As I sleep, my mind will erase everything I did today. I will wake up tomorrow as I did this morning. Thinking I’m still a child, thinking I have a whole lifetime of choice ahead of me…

Memories define us. So what if you lost yours every time you went to sleep? Your name, your identity, your past, even the people you love–all forgotten overnight. And the one person you trust may only be telling you half the story.

Welcome to Christine’s life. –Goodreads


Review:

Dubious. Mistrustful. Suspicious. Wary.  Paranoid. Through some words on paper, Watson has managed to make me feel all those emotions. All at the same time. This was no light read. As “cliche” as this might sound, but this book was a real roller coaster. Once you start believing some character’s innocence or guiltiness, a plot twist comes and makes you think twice before assuming anything again. This book would leave you full of questions. Some about the people around you. Most about yourself. “Who are you?”. “How does your memories of the past affect your life now?”. “Are you sure all those memories are real?!!”.

Well, that’s enough because another word about this book and I’ll start spoiling it for you. And I wouldn’t be stopping for long.


Movie:

I haven’t watched the movie, but I saw the trailer now (just a part because it has LOTS of adult scenes, you know). You can watch it here.  The actors look good though.  I don’t know any of them but I don’t know any actors, anyway- just Will Smith & Di Caprio. Ah, and there’s a major difference, I noticed. In the book she WRITES a journal. In the movie someone came up with the brilliant idea of changing this and making her videotape a visual journal! God knows why they can’t just stick to book. It physically hurts them, I guess.


Have you read this book yet? Did you like it? If not, are you going to? Do tell in the comments below! And keep reading!

picture2

One thought on “Review | Before I Go To Sleep

Leave a Reply

