My trip to the CIBF (A recount or book haul?)

I’ve already posted a blog about what is the Cairo International Book Fair You can see it here.


So, I thought I’d share this wonderful experience with you. I went last week and I’m already wishing I could go again. This isn’t the first time for me to go, but it was the first for me to choose my own books and decide what to get and what to not – I felt like an adult 🙂 . Anyway, so I started by casually checking out the publishers and bargains before I buy anything. It was impossible to see all the fair ground then come back again, so I ended buying from first sight. The first place I bought something from was Dar El Shrouq. They had 50% discounts on 250 titles and 150 other titles for only 5, 10 or 20 EGP (0.3, 0.5 or 1 $). Here’s what i got from there:

  • Beatrice & Virgil by Yann Martel hardcover – 30 EGP (1.6 $)
  • Trash by Andy Mulligan paperback – 20 EGP (1 $)

Next was the AUC Press (they had to drag me out of there).

What I got from the AUC Press:

  • Instinct by Ben Kay – 32 EGP (1.7 $)
  • Indulgence in Death by J.D. Robb – It doesn’t have a price sticker on it but I think it’s the same as the one above or maybe cheaper.

After that I sauntered around for a few hours. My sister got some Arabic novels and my dad got a business book for him and children’s books for my other sister at home. And then we reached the Azbakia section. This is where second-hand, old and fake copies are sold. They are usually the cheapest books in the fair. I got quite some books from there. All of those are paperback:

  • The Selection by Kiera Cass – 20 EGP (1 $)
  • All the Light We Cannot See – 25 EGP (1.3 $)
  • 5 books for 50 EGP (2.7 $)
    • City of Ghosts by Bali Rai
    • Drama Girl by Carmen Reid
    • Distant Waves by Suzanne Weyn
    • The Black Sphinx by Matt Hart
    • A beautiful Lie by Irfan Master
  • 1984 by George Orwell – 20 EGP (1 $)

 


I just noticed the post ended up being a book haul and not a recount. Anyway, what do you think of my purchases? Any idea which book should I start with first?

Leave a Reply

